Learning by doing

An author exposes a piece of him or herself with every published work.

As independent authors, we are also displaying the learning process we are going through. Beginning with our first efforts at self-publishing our every typo, formatting error and novice blunder is available for the world to see.

When I published my first book, Hollow, I had no plans for a second book, let alone a series.  Readers wanted to know more about what happened next to Bunny and Max and urged me to write a sequel. That led to a four book series, basically chronicling their relationship, midst the murder and general mayhem.

It’s been great fun and I’ve learned a lot along the way.

Because I wasn’t planning a series, and because I was learning more about how to create a good cover as I went along, my covers in the series are not cohesive. Just looking at the books on a shelf, there is no family resemblance to jump out at the readers to let them know they are a series, as you can see from the covers displayed on the header of my blog.

I am considering having the covers re-designed as a series and would love some feedback on which element or elements should be consistent on each of the new covers.

Any and all feedback will be read, considered and appreciated.

Please Leave a Comment

