Multi-tasking Nightmares

Popular wisdom says women are better at multi-tasking than men. I don’t know if that is true, but if it is, I feel sorry for men who are independent authors. Juggling the tasks of writing, proofing, editing, production and promotion, along with holding down a full-time job, can strain the capabilities of even my superior feminine brain, so they might threaten to short-circuit male synapses.

When I published my first few books branding was no where on my radar. I didn’t even bother to make the covers in my first series have a similar style, so now that I’ve learned a bit more about this whole Independent Author process, I’m eager to have my covers redesigned to get a cohesive look.

I’ve just tiptoed into the world of professional cover design and found the waters (and prices) a bit too deep for my current budget. I need to earn more from my books in order to afford to get new covers, but I need new cover designs to increase my sales.

Spending time on promotion and marketing to increase sales takes time away from writing new books, but I need more books to increase my sales.

It makes me dizzy, just thinking about it.

Independent authors are beginning to get a bit more respect as creative professionals, and that’s a good thing. However, when you consider all the different balls we keep whizzing through the air, especially compared to traditionally published authors, we should be getting a whole lot more.

Today is the Rave Reviews Book Club Blog Recruiting day. To vote for your favorite blog entry go to:

Blog Recruitment Day Voting Link

 

http://wp.me/P49Fi9-GG

Thanks!

Please Leave a Comment

